Our Board

Ian Sampson - ChairB.Comm., LLB., FAICD
Ian Sampson is an experienced non-executive director with expertise in governance, strategy development, risk, financial and audit management, board evaluation, remuneration and development. He is currently Chairman of 139Club Ltd, a centre for people experiencing homelessness in Brisbane and Chairs the Board of Marsh Tincknell Pty Ltd, a Brisbane-based Chartered Accounting firm. Ian is also a syndicate Chairman of the CEOInstitute. He has run a strategic advisory consultancy since 2004, and prior to that enjoyed a wide-ranging career in human resources and general management at a range of companies including BHP, CSR, Lonmin and Thiess, both in Australia and overseas.
Kerrie Mahon - DirectorB.Bus., MPhil(Mgt)., MAICD
Kerrie Mahon is an accomplished senior executive and board director with more than 25 years of experience leading and managing health and human services. Her experience includes chief executive roles and executive positions leading strategy, operations, risk, quality, and performance. Kerrie is CEO of Montrose Therapy and Respite Services and serves on the Healthcare Innovations Advisory Board of Bond University, where she is an Honorary Associate Adjunct Professor of the Faculty of Health Sciences and Medicine. Her qualifications include a Masters of Philosophy in Corporate Governance, Strategy and Risk, and a Bachelor of Business, Health Administration.
Angela Moody - DirectorB.Econ., BA, MProf Econ, Post Grad Dip Applied Finance, GAICD
Angela is an experienced non-executive director with over ten years’ experience on ‘for purpose’ boards. Her board experience spans a range of industries/sectors including education, CALD communities, migrant and refugee settlement services and economic development. Angela is also an accomplished executive, with a combination of experience in strategic development and implementation, stakeholder management, economic regulation and reform, corporate governance and commercial experience across private and public sectors.
Bruce Moffat - DirectorB.Com., FCPA, FIML, GAICD
Bruce is an experienced Chief Financial Officer, organisational consultant and Certified Practicing Accountant, with an extensive history in the not-for-profit, private and tertiary education sectors. He is an Official Visitor with Queensland Corrective Services and a mentor with Mentoring for Growth as part of Advancing Small Business Queensland. Bruce volunteers with small not-for-profits and is a Board Member with St David’s Neighbourhood Centre.
Professor Kim Halford - DirectorBBSc (Hons) PhD FAPsS FAACBT FABCT GAICD
Professor Kim Halford is a registered clinical psychologist, and is Emeritus Professor of Clinical Psychology at the University of Queensland. Kim has 35 years experience as a university leader, researcher, educator and practitioner. He is an internationally recognized authority on work with couples and families; has served as an advisor on family related social policy to the Australian, German and US governments; and trained more than 12,000 professional in couple therapy across a dozen countries. Kim has over 200 research publications, some of which were done in collaboration with members of RAQ’s staff, plus 8 books. He is committed to enhancing the contribution of psychology as a discipline and a profession to society, and serves as chair of the RAQ Board Quality and Performance committee.
Bill Owens - DirectorBA (Hons), GDBA, GAICD
Bill Owens is an experienced executive and non-executive director specialising in governance, strategy, risk and ICT strategy development & governance. He has run his own ICT services company since 2016 and before that built an executive career over thirty years at home and abroad in technology and business consultancy at Elders IXL, PwC (UK), Adventis (UK) and MSL Solutions. Bill has particular expertise in designing and governing technology led business transformation programs. He is a graduate of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (AICD); has a Bachelor of Arts (Hons, Psychology) from the University of Queensland and a Graduate Diploma of Business Administration from QUT.
Mikhara Ramsing - DirectorLLB(Hons)/Econ(Hons), GAICD
Mikhara Ramsing is a social entrepreneur from Brisbane, Australia. She runs two social enterprises in the human rights space: Miks Chai, which sells ethically sourced, environmentally sustainable delicious chai to create connection through storytelling; and Ethnic LGBT+, a national website providing a safe place for members of the culturally and linguistically diverse (CALD) LGBTIQA+ community to share their stories. She believes stories save lives and has travelled around Australia in a self-built tiny home connecting with rural youth. She has been nominated as the Young Australian of the Year QLD 2019, AFR Top 100 Women of Influence and was awarded a Westpac Social Change Fellowship enabling her to attend Harvard University and to work with LGBTIQA+ communities around the world.
Professor Gary Thomas - DirectorBA, PgDipED, PhD PFHEA, MAICD

Professor Gary Thomas is the University of the Sunshine Coast’s inaugural Dean, Indigenous Education and Engagement, where he holds responsibility for whole of institution approaches to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander student success, learning and teaching, research, and community engagement. Professor Thomas has worked at the University of Southern Queensland, the University of Melbourne, La Trobe University, the Queensland University of Technology, and the Batchelor Institute of Indigenous Tertiary Education. He has held academic, professional and senior executive roles, and contributed to indigenous education at both national and international levels over many years. In 2016, Professor Thomas became the first Indigenous Australian to be awarded Principal Fellow of the Higher Education Academy (UK). He is particularly interested in opportunities for clients to shape services and experiences within organisations.